October 13, 2013

  • WHEN GOD GETS YOU...

    BETWEEN A ROCK AND A HARD PLACE

    What does it take to get you?  How does God get you where he wants you?   He sent me back to South Carolina, and back into retail furniture.   It's been Hell, almost from day one.  The thing about God is he's a true dad.   He pushes you where he wants you to go.  Okay, maybe God only  pushes me where he wants me to go.

    God has to push, because  I won't move.  That is one of the things that saves me.  I honestly do trust God to tell me where to go, well, not if it's ministry.  My saving malfunction is also the thing that gives me trouble.  God may want to move me to do many things, and I'll go, but there are some things I deflect, and avoid, like writing.   Just once I'd like God to give me a task I have some ability in, and I guess that is one of the problems I have with God.  Why not work from the strengths I've been given?   Actually, I'm not sure I have any strengths.  I've always known God was even in control of that.  God has let me get away with holding off the call to be a pastor, for almost 25 years.  For 15 years I've held off writing the book he told me to write.  But I'm between a rock and a hard place.  God is breaking me down.  No more letting me get away.   South Carolina and retail management suck.  I never could understand why God sent me into retail management.   I hate it, and that is one of the main reasons God put me into it.   The only escape from the Hell of retail management is for God to move me, believe me once you're in retail management you're truly stuck.  No one will hire you, because retail is looked down upon by every other industry.   I hate it, and God knows that.   I don't care about it.   There is no keeping my interest with something I hate, and God knows that.   I  haven't really been avoiding God's call.  God has been preparing me for what he's called me to do, and I'm in the last set up.    It's funny and painful, but it beats getting my own way.

    It's death.   God calls all of us .   With God death is followed by resurrection.  Get me in the grave quick cause life is sucking!!

    If you're going to get set up, no one does it better than God.

Comments (14)

  • I am 80 years old and trying not to rush into the underground condo structures in the cemetery.

    I have been pushed by God, but most of my wife was really fun. I just assume God has to slap me around once in while to shape me up, then he lets me have fun until the next slapping around.

    Hope things go much better for you.

    • Thanks Frank! But This is all a great learning process. If I don't go through this then I'd never get to know God in this storm. It sucks, but at least this time I have some understanding of what God desires to accomplish. One of my best friends always says,"God is interested in conforming us to the image of his Son, and that is the purpose of all he does in our lives." The process, while not at all enjoyable is necessary. I'm trying to be as honest as I can about this process. It's just a little death, right? And what is that compared to eternal life with God?

  • Now I'm trying to figure out which part of Frank's wife was not so fun . . .

  • You are wise in the ways of wisdom.

  • No, God does the exact same thing with each of His children... but wherever He pushes us, we are sure to find HIM there! And yes, our God IS a true dad! :) ~ Hebrews 12.

    (I can't express to you how much this resonates with my soul at this time... I've been between that rock and hard place for what seems to me an excruciatingly long time.)

    • I'd say I'm sorry for your painful position, and I am, but I know the benefits of being in the press. You know of all the places Jesus could have gone on his last free day on the earth he chose Gethsemane. I'm sure you know a gethsemane is an olive press. Jesus didn't run from the crush of the press, he went into it. God is always on the other side of the crush. There is greater love for God there. There is greater desire for God on the other side of the pressure. There is a greater understanding and intimacy with God when the press is done.

  • RYC: Eventually I told this student, because he simply would not leave his point alone, that when he became a boss, he could hire whoever he wanted. But that he had better hire people who were good at their jobs or he would be out of business quick.

  • Bruises heal but wisdom you get to keep.

  • Love your comment... Thank you! (Wish we still had that rec button!)

    HAPPY is the man whom God corrects! ALWAYS for our benefit!

  • RYC: He's easily in his 40s, but God can still heal him.

  • God set me up in retail, too. I've been there a long time and have finally accepted that the point is to prepare me for what's next (whatever that is).

    • Preparation was certainly part of it, but for me, I also know God didn't want me getting too comfortable in any job. One of the reasons God put me in retail management was so when God was ready I'd be ready to escape the trap of retail. I hate retail, and God knows I am burned out. When I'm doing something I love I don't burn out. Ministry has always been a very organic thing which develops quite naturally for me. It's just part of the call of God. I'm in no way special in God's sight. I actually think it's funny how much of a wrong fit I'm turning out to be for retail management. I know that God didn't take me into retail to dump me there. God always had every intention of moving into something completely different. It isn't any fun watching things falling apart for me, but I know God is just closing a door, moving his provision, favor, and grace to the next work he wants me to join him in doing. If God has something else for you, then he'll make the way!

      Grace and peace!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *