November 27, 2013

  • STARTING NEW

    At the end of  December I will be 50 years old.  Unlike my 40th birthday, I am honestly looking forward to turning 50.  I don't like everything which goes with being older, but I love the growth of my relationship with Christ.   Grace and peace have become more than things I write at the end of emails, comments, and blog posts.   God is showing me the most incredible grace and peace.  I'm a manager with a retail furniture company, and things are going very badly for me.   What do I have to say about this difficult situation?   I say grace and peace, because these are what gets me through the day.  In the flesh I see everything falling apart, I am tired, moody, all too often running into bouts of anger and wrath!   Then God comes with grace and peace, "Peace Lonnie!!   What about grace, Lonnie??!!"   I repent... I mean I repent a LOT!!   But the very next thing is, "God where is your grace for this situation??   God, please show me where your grace is for this overwhelming situation.  God's grace is always there, and the situation comes to an end.  The ends I come to do not always look graceful, and very often I look as  graceful as Charlie Brown trying to kick the football Lucy has pulled away.  I always seem to be looking up at the world from a mangled heap of me!   The best times are the times I'm looking like a laughingstock and a mangled heap, BUT GOD!!!!  I don't care how I look or how graceful the conclusion of overwhelming matters are for me.   I get to see God's  grace working!!

    Today came the strongest impression I've received yet, "Very soon it will all be over!  Very soon there will be new work (not retail!!!), and new ministry work (hopefully full time with pay).   I haven't got the foggiest idea what God has next, but I have an overwhelming sense of peace, and that God's grace is going before me.

    If you pray I'd appreciate your prayers...for the ministry work, and for grace to complete the book.  Thanks!!

    AND HAPPY THANKSGIVING!   All of you are on my, "People I'm thankful for" list

     

    Lest I forget...

     

    GRACE AND PEACE TO YOU FROM THE LIVING GOD!!

     

     

Comments (4)

  • Praying. Happy Thanksgiving!

  • I am more aware of God's Mercy and Provision in my old age. I loved turning 80.

    Wishing you the best in all ways including your business,

    frank

  • Praying. I owe you a phone call to catch up! Or if you use any chat programs, let me know.

  • Thank you so much for your comment on my post. I appreciated your question: Why has God put me in retail? because I've thought hard about that lately. So many answers to that question, and I plan to write them tomorrow when I have more time. I, too, feel that there's a change for me around the corner, but I don't know what it is. I trust that I'll know soon. That certainty of change---even with no answers about my future--is slowly replacing my anxiety with serenity. It's exciting, and I pray for your new adventure to happen soon and to bring you much joy!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *